So I want learn to teach?

I got confirmation a few weeks back that my application to study for a Graduate Diploma in Education was successful, so I’m headed back to university to do some more learning… Learning to teach; it even sounds cool.
 
For the last 6 or 7 years I’ve found that my passion has revealed itself in helping others get enthusiastic about technology in all its forms. It’s what drove me to get involved in journalism, to write more than a dozen books, start a website dedicated to helping parents understand the value of computing and gaming and why I love talking to my family members who are already teachers (mum, sister, cousins).
 
So, I finally realised that the next logical step to fueling that passion would be to learn to teach. I can’t think of too much that would be more fulfilling than being there to encourage someone who is "getting it" in regards to technology for the first time. So, I want to know the processes behind that; how the institutions themselves put in place a process to educate kids.
 
I’m doing it at UNE (Armidale) by distance education and it’s going to take 2 years (less if I can somehow swing it – the main problem will be the 2 x 4 week pracs and getting time off work), and at the end of that I’ll be qualified to teach Computing, Business Studies (and if I do an extra subject, Mathematics) for years 7-12. I even got confirmation from NSW Department of Education that I will indeed be qualified based on my previous degree and this one, so I’m feeling pretty pumped.
 
I’m not necessarily saying I’m going to go into high school teaching – but understanding how schools and teachers work from that different "insider’s" perspective will help me to reach out to them regardless of where I end up.
 
So now I’m just waiting for the initial batch of materials so I know what I’m up for this semester. Can’t wait. 🙂
This entry was posted in Teaching and Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to So I want learn to teach?

  1. Darren says:

    Congratulations Andrew.
     
    But, if it makes you feel better, I just got my books and course folder for the course that I\’m doing this year.  A *lot* of reading lies ahead!  I have to read 4 topic sections and 3 chapters by next Friday (the first of a 2 day, all day intensive)!
     
    I\’m doing 2 subjects in the first trimester and it was interesting drawing up a calendar of my next 3 months, including:
     
    * The lectures that I have to attend
    * The days of study that I have to do in-between lecture days
    * Hockey trainings (start in February)
     
    …and then to overlay that with things like the 3 day RDN roadtrip, a trip to the US (MVP Summit), and any work trips that will also be required.
     
    Busy – but exciting – times ahead 🙂

  2. Unknown says:

    Congratulations Andrew. I know that this means a lot to you and i have recently seen evidence to demonstrate you are an absolute natural.Do with this education what ever you choose, but you should know that your passion will be appreciated.

  3. Trish says:

    Well done! Exciting times ahead indeed. When you told me this is what you wanted to do, I thought it was a perfect fit for someone of your interests and talents. Keep us posted!

  4. keith says:

    Hi,
     I have been a teacher since[1969]  for over 25 years. In my day, slide rules were used,and mechanical typewriters clattered away in the classroom and in the offices.Todays wireless technology seems to me as miracle.
    I really enjoyed reading your blog information

  5. Unknown says:

    健康食品健康食品通販健康食品温泉水健康食品海洋深層水健康食品ハナビラタケ健康食品

    サプリメントサプリメント通販サプリメントアルカリイオン水サプリメント健康食品サプリメントサプリメント

    SEO対策SEO対策SEO対策Yahoo SEO対策SEO対策Google SEO対策SEO対策アクセスアップ

    SEOSEOSEO検索エンジン最適化SEO上位表示SEO集客SEOSEOSEOSEO対策SEO

    キャッシング比較キャッシング比較キャッシング比較キャッシングキャッシング比較キャッシング情報

    キャッシングキャッシングキャッシングキャッシング比較キャッシングキャッシング申込みキャッシング

    カードローンカードローンカードローンカードローン比較カードローンクレジットカードカードローンローン

    リフォームリフォームリフォームリフォーム会社リフォームリフォーム見積りリフォームリフォーム相談

    ホームページ制作ホームページ制作ホームページ制作ホームページ制作見積りホームページ制作

    FXFXFXFX取引FXFX投資FX外国為替証拠金取引FX外為FXオンライントレードFXシステムトレード

    占い電話占い占い占い占い恋愛相談占い霊視占いカウンセリング占いスピリチュアル占い

    ライブチャットライブチャットライブチャットアダルトライブチャットライブチャットライブチャットランキング

    保育士求人保育士求人保育士求人保育士派遣保育士求人保育士募集保育士求人保育士転職

    RMTRMTRMTリアルマネートレードRMTオンラインゲームRMTラグナロックRMTFFRMTリネージュ

    金融転職金融転職金融転職投資銀行金融転職投資ファンド金融転職不動産金融金融転職

    インプラントインプラントインプラントインプラント治療インプラント審美歯科インプラント美容歯科インプラント

    マーケティングマーケティングマーケティング市場調査マーケティングリサーチマーケティング販促活動

    youtubeyoutubeyoutubeyoutubeアニメyoutubeyoutube映画youtubeyoutubeドラマyoutubeyouku

    SEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEOSEO

  6. Unknown says:

    株式投資  出産祝い  会社設立  フレッツ 
    お見合いパーティー  看護師 オーク 
    データ復元 Bフレッツ 育毛剤 アルカリイオン水 自動車保険 比較 
    CAD

  7. Unknown says:

    お取り寄せグルメ  腰痛  結婚指輪  東京 ホームページ制作 カーボンオフセット  鼻づまり  いびき  フレッツ 光  釣り  データ復旧  自動車保険  toefl

  8. Unknown says:

    外壁,防水,屋根,塗装専門店,ペイント,塗料,ペンキ,カラモニー塗り替え,塗り替え金額,塗り替え期間、塗り替え仕上,塗替え,外壁塗装,リフォーム,塗装,塗装業者,住宅塗装,塗料,日本ペイント, 外壁塗装を考えている方は必見です 。三井ダイレクト東京/大阪のクリエイター育成専門の学校 バンタンデザイン研究所。大阪 専門学校ファッションや美容の専門の学校です. 大阪 専門学校デザインスクール最大級の超複合型イベント。

Leave a Reply

